January is almost over.  I wonder how many resolutions have been tossed aside, forgotten like old, broken toys?

I think that’s because we do not discipline ourselves to follow through.  Disciple is at the root of discipline and I like the definition of a disciple being a follower, a student, if you will.

We need to decide what we will follow.  If we truly want to follow our resolutions, it makes sense to be like a disciple of your plans.  Stay with them.  Today you might be distracted by something, but tomorrow you can return.

M-W.com defines discipline as “control that is gained by requiring that rules or orders be obeyed and punishes bad behavior.”  That’s a little harsh.  How about “A way of behaving that shows a willingness to obey rules.”  A willingness to follow plans.

Can we be better followers, better disciples of what we claim to believe in and want to achieve?

I am re-thinking resolutions this year.  I’ve spoken to several people who are not doing it.  Every year I change my mind – last year I listed the things I wanted to accomplish.  This year I’m thinking about how I want to be.

It doesn’t matter what resolutions you have.  Or even if you have any at all. Still, there may well be things you want to get done.  I know I always have something.  If goals are going to be reached, they need us to follow them like a disciple.

