Sometimes I have to remind myself that life does not always move in a straight line.  Growth happens in fits and starts.  Just when I think I’ve made some headway, I find myself down on my butt again.  Many times I’m heading in one direction when I see the need to take a sharp left.  Scanning the horizon for something, I find something else coming up from behind me!  When I’m in the midst of a project, a seed I planted in one garden may well blossom in another.

Karma works this way, too.  It’s not always: I do a good deed and get something good back from it.  Very often the rebound Good comes from unexpected quadrants.

Social networking proves this theory as well.  Connecting with someone here can provide a juicy connection from someplace far off.  Those six degrees of separation often bounce in mysterious ways.

All of this shifting and twisting can leave me feeling a bit unsteady.

The trick is, I think, to follow the Japanese proverb which says, “Fall down seven times, get up eight.”  For some of us that may be, fall down 10 times, get up 11.

It’s at times like these I need to remember to be kind to myself.  When I’m determinedly working on something, whether it’s a piece of writing, a job search or personal growth, there will be slip ups and times I feel like nothing’s moving.  I need to just stay with it and keep going. Pick myself up, dust myself off, tend to any wounds, give myself a pat on the back and take another step.

Progress does not always move in a neat, tidy or clear line.

