Whenever I’m down with a cold, I always remind myself to be grateful when I am breathing easily again and don’t feel so horrible.

I think all of us tend to forget to be grateful for some of the things that reside in the everydayness of our lives. Yesterday, there were 100,000 homes in our area that didn’t have power.  We were one of them.  It’s a very unsettling feeling to be without it.  My father wrote an insightful radio script about it. You can read “Written by Candelight” here

There are so many things we take for granted when we have power coursing through our homes every day.  When you can cook and open the refrigerator, flush the toilet and run water (I have a well with an electric pump).  Simple things we do every day, without thinking. Watching TV, surfing the Internet or reading with adequate lighting. 

How about having heat? Yesterday, when we got home, though the power was restored, the heater wasn’t working.  What a simple pleasure just to have heat!
Speaking of the weather, what about driving on dry roads? Or being able to see around corners without huge piles of snow in the way?

There are so many things that are easy to take for granted. They exist around us like the air we breathe. Like a car that starts, having clothes to pick from, or a breakfast, if you please. Just take a gaze around you and see something to be grateful for.  What about the boots or coat that serve so well?  I have a water bottle, with a strap so I can carry it with me wherever I go.  I don’t know what I’d do without it.  But how often do I stop and give thanks for it? You might be grateful for a treasured piece of jewelry, a cozy bed, or a special painting.  Whatever level of health and well-being you have is much to be grateful for and right at your fingertips. 

Sometimes these things fade into the background noise of our lives.  It’s good to pull them out every so often and give thanks for these taken for granted blessings.

Some simple things I am grateful for:
     My job which helps me afford the things I want and need.
     The gloves which protect my hands from cold.
     Books and films and songs, as well as my favorite TV shows, which so delight.
     Peace and quiet.
     Thursday night pasta.
     The pen pouch I waited so long for which holds all my special pens.
     The phone beside my bed, giving me access to the whole world.
     My laptop and all it brings to my life.
     An attached garage so I don’t have to step in the mess or scrape ice off my car.
     My favorite slippers.
     Time to write a blog post.

What everyday things are you grateful for?

