I’m not happy about my current situation. Weariness is building and resentment is raising its ugly head.  The negative chatter in my head grows louder.

Rather than just buy into it, though, I decided to take it apart.  How does it really stack up?  I listed all the things that are bothering me right now, letting it all out.  Then, I listed beside it what’s Good.  What I like about things at the moment.  Do you know what I found?  There are at least as many (if not more) Good things.  For the math’s sake, let’s call it equal.

What that shows me is that things are not necessarily as bad as I was telling myself.  There is a whole lot of good going on as well.  It also reveals the truth:  that I can just as easily see it from the Good side, the positive slant.  Is it any more righteous to ignore what’s working and see only what’s out of alignment? If I can do that, as I have been, why can’t I flip it and pay more attention to the Good?  And let the Bad float away. . .

It’s all just a matter of choice.  How I choose to look at it.  It doesn’t change the points on my list, but it does seriously alter my attitude about it all.

