I have been going on a bit lately about feelings for my upcoming book.  How important it is to check in with how you’re feeling.  They are the gauge that tell you how you’re going.  Feelings are true and real, just not necessarily so.

Every day I read a page in Chellie Campbell’s wonderful book, “The Wealthy Spirit.”  I’m liking the notion Chellie brought up in one of the day’s readings that you can’t always wait until your feelings are where you want them to be.  If you did, you’d probably never do anything.

In regards to my recent experience in the car, I haven’t felt much like driving in inclement weather.  I was able to escape it yesterday. (Though the road crews were out early and with their high tech solutions, made the roads pretty clear, from my point of view, there was still a whole lot of snow and I was not inclined to risk any more poles.)  But today, I had to venture out.  If I waited until I felt like it, I would hide under the covers (at least inside the door) until well into April.

It is an interesting path these feelings take.  They come out of our thoughts: “I’m scared. I can’t do it.  What if?  I’ll mess up again.”  I think we’re all familiar with that song and dance routine.  These thoughts make me feel like I can’t, like I doan wanna.  Which keep me from moving.

There are two ways to go here.  One entails controlling my thoughts.  Meditation, I believe, can help in training the mind.  But it’s so easy to lose track in this multi-tasking, quick -cut, short attention span world we live in.  You can forget about calming the feelings.  That’s often a losing battle once it’s taken hold of you.

Ultimately, it must come back to the thought. But you need to change (or usurp) those chattering thoughts with one simple demand:  “Feel the Fear and Do It Anyway.”  Susan Jeffers had the answer way back in the mid 80’s.  There really isn’t any other way around it.

I would say you could use that same technique with any brand of fear you have.  Feel the reluctance, the insecurity, the nervousness. The plan is always to acknowledge the feeling, whatever it is, and then follow Dr. Jeffers and do it anyway.

First, you might want to scan it through your feelings, though, to see if you really do want to do it.  Even if it feels like your particular flavor of feeling, do you still feel it’s right to do? (I do want to go out, even if I don’t feel like it.)  If there’s something you can do to pad the way, by all means, do it.  If that means waiting one more day, getting the proper tools or supplies, asking someone for help, get busy and do it.  Just don’t forget (or get lost in the preparations) and just do it.

