In “Conversations with God,” by Neale Donald Walsch, they talk about The Sponsoring Thought.

Prayer, God says is merely a “fervent statement of what is so.”  Most of our prayers are for things we want.  That means, “behind every supplication is a thought that you do not have now what you wish.”  That is the fervent thought: That something is missing from your life. 

God says the only thought that will override this is, “The thought held in faith that God will give you what you want, without fail.”  Holding that thought means you don’t have to ask for it.  So prayer becomes just gratitude. Saying thanks for what you have (and all you know is coming.)

But what I find particularly interesting in this is that the Sponsoring Thought doesn’t need to changed. You can just stop it in its tracks.  If generating that kind of faith is a big leap for you, there is a simpler method: Act before you Think.

Yes, we are all told over and over to Think before we Act.  I don’t know about you, but I can easily pile up thoughts in a matter of seconds.  To wit: I was sitting, on Saturday morning, at the table by the door, enjoying the fresh air.  I don’t know where you live, but here between the geographical location and climate change, there aren’t a lot of beautiful days.  Here was one of them.  On one of the breezes came the notion to call my neighbor and take a walk.  It might be my only chance that day as there were plans afoot to go to a party later in the afternoon.  But then they started: Do I really want to do this?  I’m having a fine time sitting here.  My tea will get cold.  Will I have time to do all I need to do before the party?  Maybe I should just stay put.

Before I could take another sip of tea, I had demolished the idea of going for a walk.  Being an aware person, I noticed this and decided to go ahead and take the walk anyway.  It was a lovely time, visiting with my friend, getting more of that perfect air and getting in some movement. My tea was fine, my plans were fine.  I was following my first thought

“You must act quickly,” God says,” as your mind will kill the idea before you know it.” As I almost did. Squashed the thought right out of existence.

Act before you think.  Following your joyful impulses.  A radical concept. And, you say, not always practical in most lives.  But I venture to guess that everyone can find moments of following it, practicing it.  And if you can replace some of your supplications with prayers of gratitude you may just find there is more time and space to act before you think.  You will come to trust those first thoughts.

That one simple thought, that isn’t attached to fifty more, is usually the right thought, the higher self-directed thought.  That guidance will never force itself on you.  You have to slow down the pile up of thoughts so you can listen and make the choice to follow it.  The more you follow it, the louder it will become and the quieter the Sponsoring Thought of Lack will be.

