I’ve started a new book. It’s a classic, actually. “Wishcraft: How to Get what You Really Want.” The author is Barbara Sher. According to her web site at barbarasher.com, she is a “business owner, career counselor, and best-selling author of seven books, each of which provides a down-to-earth, nuts-and-bolts method for uncovering natural talent, pinpointing goals and turning dreams into reality. She has often been named the ‘godmother of life coaching’ by the media and her many fans.” I’d like to think that I have pinpointed my goals but I can’t say I’ve made all my dreams come true, yet. I feel safe working with the godmother.

The first exercise asks us “Who do you think you are?” I can do that ~ I’m a woman who writes about spiritual topics, music business romances, and an occasional political rant. I live in a small house in a beautiful spot. I love to do Tai Chi, talk with friends and watch movies and great television shows. But Barbara says that’s not who we are at all. Tear up the paper I wrote that on and throw it out! Yes, indeed. I know what she’s getting at. We are not this life situation we are living. We are more than that.

She wants us to discover our original self. So, next is to think back to childhood and find out what we were into at the time. I went on and on, talking of the games we used to play. My endless fascination with music and the forts I used to build. Being outside, playing. I loved animals and trolls and Barbie dolls. The idea is to get a hint at what you love to do without the pressures of the adult world.

At first I didn’t see any connections. After all, I still care about the survival of animals, but now they just seem dirty, smelly, and sometimes scary, up close. I may have once wanted to be a cowgirl, but now I see it was more about the outfit. My friend and I dreamed about being princesses. Today I know that life is not as glamorous as I thought. But then I was able to see a creativity at work in the imaginative games we played. Though I was more interested in the boy that sat behind me, I did attend many Sunday School classes and learned a lot about religion and God. Not that I was a loner, but I have happy memories of the time I spent alone, swinging and dreaming.

One thing that struck me was how much fun I had as a kid. All those summers off to do just as I pleased can add up. I think, sometimes, we tend to dwell on the time we burned up the carpet and got in trouble, or when mom embarrassed us in front of the classroom, the time we didn’t get the fancy bike we wanted. But there were so many moments when I did get what I wanted and I got to do what I wanted and things turned out well. Happy memories don’t seem to reverberate as loudly as the bad ones. It’s healthy to revisit the good stuff. I suspect more insights will come as this settles in.

In Chapter 2 we’re going to learn about the right environment for that original self to flourish.

