Life Makeovers. 52 Practical and Inspiring Ways to Improve Your Life One Week at a Time.

Though I am reading this book straight through, I haven’t finished yet, so expect more. Several years ago, I read Cheryl’s book Take Time for Your Life.  So I was eager to read this companion book

This book is meant to be read a chapter a week.  To savor and work the teaching.  Each chapter ends with a Take Action Challenge. There are questions to ponder and promises to make.  They are, for the most part, simple and doable, usually not taking more than a little contemplation and writing down a goal. For example, in Week 10, she talks about finding Balance in your life. 
The Take Action Challenge asks you to finish these statements:
The first ball I’d like to drop is:
The way that will play out in my life is:
The new behavior I will practice this week is:
Making the teaching concrete.

Now, I’ve been doing these kinds of things for a long time.  Many of the things Cheryl offers  I’m aware of or have already incorporated in my life.  But I think that’s just fine; there’s still much to be gained. Some chapters leave me feeling encouraged that I’m doing something right.  In other chapters I found a delightful gem to improve my practice like thinking about things I need to figure out and putting them to my higher consciousness to figure out. Say I will check back in a few days to see what my brain has conjured up!  She has lots of ideas to add more fun to my life, too.  When clearing out she suggests to “let go of more than you feel comfortable with.”

After each challenge she gives a list of resources.  Both web sites and books for further information.  I like that.

Each chapter starts with a quote from a broad array of people.  Week 5, The Gift of Time begins with a quote from Lao-Tzu.  “Time is a created thing.  To say ‘I don’t have time’ is like saying, ‘I don’t want to . . .’” 

Out of reading this I came up with a three-step program: The first step, as always, is to focus my attention on the present moment.  Second, comes from Cheryl’s teaching of Extreme Self-Care.  I believe that from that, love begins to overflow onto yourself and others.  The third step might be to count the ways you can love.

Cheryl has a Life Makeover Newsletter that is very informative, too.  More on that next week. I don’t yet know how this book comes out, and I think it’s important, so I will write Part 2 next Monday.   In the meantime, check out www.CherylRichardson.com

