Traveling Hopefully with Libby Gill

This was a fabulous journey! In “Facing Your Flaws and Embracing Imperfection,” seeing my flaws laid out in a line, I saw how interconnected they are, all stemming from the same fear. Once I’m afraid, I start to doubt myself. I procrastinate and consequently, thwart my efforts. It’s an easy slide into being overly critical – after all, if I had just done it, instead of getting distracted by that silly paranoia. . . This throws me off balance and I’m not always as clear as I’d like to be with others. I feel bad when people don’t acknowledge me the way I’d like them to. Wow! That was some good insight.

Krista and I both found the two rating scales a little confusing – How problematic on a scale of 1 to 10 and how much perfection was required on 1 to 5 scale. If you didn’t read it carefully, it was easy to mix them up.

The Perfection Rating, was a breeze. I was surprised to see how little perfection I need, even in areas where, on second thought, I “should” be more concerned. So, instead, I listed 5 Key Projects that I run from when I get scared and play out this Parade of Flaws. This gave me a picture of what I might do to be able to pay more attention to those projects and get past the flaws. As always, having Krista to share and bounce ideas off, paved the way for deeper understanding.

“Crossing over to Compassion” was an interesting side jaunt on our journey. The Vulnerability is Power visualization was a tricky one for me. Going over the bridge to compassion, I kept wanting to leave my flaws on the other side. Did I get some forgiveness? Probably, but I just wanted to dump them.

Libby offers these words of encouragement: “Knowing that your flaws, insecurities, and vulnerabilities will not shut you down gives you the power to take the necessary risks to keep moving toward the life you want.”

The clarity from seeing my flaws has opened up new ways to get around them, And, I hope to find more understanding and forgiveness, without having to struggle so much.

I leave with these parting remarks from Libby, “Like any other skill, risk-taking is something you build over time . . . soon, risk-taking is addictive, a self-perpetuating cycle of taking chances and reaping the rewards. You will fall fat on your face occasionally, which no longer seems so earth-shattering.”

