Movies happen regularly around here. Three a week doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface, so while I will go back to movies, I might as well vary it from time to time. I’ll never get to all of them. So, today I’m going to tell you about my new favorite show. It ran for three seasons from 2004 to 2006, I believe, on HBO. It is available on DVD now.

Somewhere in the midst of the first season, I fell in love. There’s usually a Favorite TV Show in our house. Last Spring it was Burn Notice (still awaiting Season 3). A slick romp full of beautiful people and exciting backdrops. Deadwood is not. It’s based on real accounts of the 1876 South Dakota gold mining settlement town. Full of dirty people with questionable morals and foul mouths. In Deadwood, life is cheap. Almost as cheap as the whiskey and the women. (Being a prostitute was one of the few career paths open to women.) Shots of whiskey are poured as a matter of course, before during and after most business meetings, as well as social gatherings. There is a perplexing meshing of civil formalities, codes of ethics, and fine garbs against the blood-running, muddy streets.

I’m not really sure why I love this show so much. It’s not my usual fare. Maybe it’s because the characters are so vibrant and vivid. Unlike anyone I’ve ever met. Perhaps it’s the cultural piece: A wild west rarely shown in movies or written about in fiction lore. The show portrays a close-up view of what it was like to be a courageous pioneer, coming West to build a new life or strike it rich from the gold in them thar’ hills. The stories are interesting and varied, with a huge cast. The acting is quite good, too, with the likes of Ian McShane, Powers Boothe, Timothy Olyphant, and Brad Dourif, to name a few. Maybe it’s just that I got to see Ian McShane’s backside.

